after action report – whole30

click

This past week flew by.  I can’t believe that my Whole30 is officially over today. Is it odd that I’m a little sad? I feel like I’m just now starting to peak in my mood, habits, energy, etc.

I had signed up the receive the official Whole30 emails to root me along in my journey and one of the last emails was about writing your story down in a “After Action Report” so that’s what I’m doing here.

What went well? 

I finished without a single cheat! That feels really good to be able to say because it was certainly not easy.

I was surprised to find that my moods changed after the first couple weeks. I’m generally a pretty introverted person and it’s not like I completely turned myself into a chatty Cathy but I do have this decreased anxiety and new sense of calm that I didn’t have before.

I feel tighter (like a tiger sorry – couldn’t help myself). The holiday bloat is gone and my pants are verging on being a size too big.

Sleep has been deep and satisfying.

The amount of energy I have is intense.

My sugar cravings are near non-existent (this has only happened in the last week).

What could have gone better?

If I could have avoided the whole cold/sinus infection/antibiotics thing I think my experience could have been better but there isn’t a lot you can do about that.

Exercise  hasn’t really been in the cards for me this month. Due to a sinus infection and an eye problem that I’m still trying to sort out, I’ve only been to yoga and Crossfit a handful of times in the past 30 days. Ideally, I’d be channeling some of my extra energy into that but I’m not going to beat myself up over it.

I was such a stress case over social situations when I didn’t need to be. In the future I think I’ll feel more comfortable making those tough decisions and not making a big deal about it.

I had this expectation that my skin would glow. I didn’t really notice that and, in fact, felt like I had worse skin during my Whole30.

What I’ll do in the future, to keep doing better.

My plan for the future is to continue eating a whole food diet based on vegetables,  quality meat and fats with less sneaks here and there. I will be making choices to deviate when it’s worth it (no Danielle, the candy jar at work is not “worth it”) and I’ll continue planning my week’s meals because I’ve found that really makes a big difference in making good decisions.

I am already plotting for  my next Whole30 and I’m curious to see how my reintroduction plan goes. Today starts my next 30 day challenge which I’ll write about a later today! Congrats to everyone out there on their Whole30, 21, 7…whatever your challenge may be.

One thought on “after action report – whole30

  1. […] I eat is directly correlated to how well I focus. Being fresh off the whole30 challenge it’s very apparent that when I eat crap, my focus is terrible. My mind wanders and […]

Leave a Reply

