whole30 reintro: gluten

gluten

As a part of my Whole30 reintro plan I added some gluten to my day on Wednesday.

Meal Plan

Breakfast – Half a jalapeno bagel with butter. Two hard boiled eggs. Coffee.

gluten

Snack – Chocolate chip cookie. Just picture tastiness.

Dinner – Breakfast (veggie scramble with bacon) + a BEER!

beer

The Verdict

In the paleo world gluten is generally regarded as the devil so I was nervous to reintroduce it and half expected I would keel over in a gluten induced coma the moment it passed my lips. What really happened? Surprisingly, I felt pretty good. My stomach felt a little funny after the bagel but I felt fine (if not better than normal) the rest of the day and even into Tuesday.

While I think this is good news, (I’m not as sensitive as I thought I might be!) it does not mean I’ll be stuffing my face with pasta and chowing down on breakfast croissants. I still believe there are so many other foods that are more complete and efficient at giving my body what it needs.  As with most things, I think moderation is key but, can I just tell you…that beer was mighty good. 🙂

2 thoughts on “whole30 reintro: gluten

  1. Good for you for taking the time to reintroduce things properly! I was pretty greedy and just stuffed my face lol. I’m trying to stay more strict and acknowledge how my body feels about different non compliant foods now!

    • danielle says:

      Thanks! I’ve definitely been doing some face stuffing myself – especially now that I’m close to the end! Come to me chocolate. 🙂 How is it going for you? I was a little surprised at what things worked/didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

