texas red

Today is National Chili day. I just found out. Shouldn’t we all be getting the day off or something? Also, who the heck comes up with these food related national days??

Anyways, I helped Mike make a chili recipe last night so he could take it in for a chili cook off at work today (for National Chili day, of course). My Dad taught me from a young age that the best chili doesn’t include beans so this isn’t your standard chili recipe. It takes a little bit of extra effort but the depth and smokiness is totally worth it. It’s the real deal and I love it. It’s one I’m filing away for later use.

texas-red-1

click image for source

2 thoughts on “texas red

  1. Yum Yucky says:

    That’s a good lookin’ bowl of chili! Had I know the day had gone National, we’d be having chili tonight for sure. I love it with a side of cornbread(s) smathered in butter. Shhhh! don’t tell.

Leave a Reply

