after action report – meditation

goals

Today is the last day of my 30-day meditation challenge. To summarize my experience, I’ve pulled together an “after action report”.

What went well?

Being that I’m brand new to meditation, this was the most I have ever meditated. What went well is that I gave it a try. I probably spent around 8 hours meditating this month and I think it was time well spent. I enjoyed taking that time to quiet my mind every day.

Some of my meditations were really great experiences and I felt a sense of calm afterwards but some were just “meh” and kind of frustrating.

I would highly recommend the Headspace program to anyone interested in trying meditation. It was extremely helpful in giving me a simple structure to work with and I plan to continue using it in the future.

 

I wish I had more huge revelation to share but I don’t and I’m ok with that.

What could have gone better?

I did miss two days of meditation. I was sad that I missed those days and I don’t really have a good excuse for why I missed them but it happened and I’m owning up to it.

I wish that my practice had been more regular. I never established a consistent time of day or place to practice (it’s hard to do so while sharing a small space with another person). In a chair, on a pillow next to my bed, in the living room – I was all over the place. Maybe in the future I’ll set up a meditation corner for myself.

What I’ll do in the future, to keep doing better.

I won’t hold expectations for my meditation. Below is my list of things that I was hoping to get out of completing this challenge and I can’t definitively say that I’ve achieved any of them. That just might be my big takeaway…don’t approach meditation with a bunch of expectations.

  • A overall feeling of calm
  • Better focus on the task at hand – less multi-tasking!
  • More empathy and acceptance for those around me
  • A greater sense of gratitude and contentment

I’ll continue meditating but probably not every day. I see myself returning to it when I’m feeling stressed/overwhelmed and I will add mini meditations into my every day but I probably won’t be sitting down for the full 20 minutes every day. Overall, I’m really content with my meditation challenge and I’m looking forward to incorporating what I’ve learned in little ways.

Leave a Reply

