after action report – flossing

floss

I’m gonna keep this short because it’s about flossing and who really want to discuss flossing in depth?

For my June challenge I flossed almost every day of the month – probably more than I’ve ever flossed. Sometimes it really hurt but it got easier as the month went on.

The dentist was impressed but, that doesn’t change the fact that I need to go back for a crown (!!!) in a couple weeks. I can’t help but wonder what I could have done as a kid to have avoided fillings in every single molar (no joke!). I’ve always been a good brusher so I kind of wonder if my childhood diet may have played a part? I know for sure the sour candy habit didn’t help.

On an even larger scale, this has made me think about how important it is to maintain healthy habits NOW so that later in life I have less crowns, chronic issues, whatever I might otherwise be in store for. I’m only 27 and I’m already experiencing repercussions for my past dental issues. This is a good reminder that if I want to live my life to the fullest (every single day of it), that means taking the time to do some self care and preventative maintenance now. Even if that means flossing.

So much for keeping it short.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

