how i (mostly) paleo meal plan

 

I have a weird love for meal planning and grocery shopping. Every week on Sunday or Monday I sit down and write out a menu for the week and build our grocery shopping list off of that.

I grocery shop once or sometimes twice a week and it really helps me to stay focused. Going to the store without a list means I’ll come home with $40 worth of snacks and maybe a pound of ground beef. Not so good for the budget.

I still try to follow a mostly paleo diet but lately I’ve been experimenting with adding in more carbs in the form of starchy veggies, rice and gluten free bread. Carbs are necessary for building muscle and I’ve realized recently that I was eating too low carb and probably not getting enough calories. This podcast was part of my inspiration/motivation if you’re curious.

So here is our plan for the week. I try to leave one “tbd” wild card day in there because we’ll end up eating out or with family at least one night a week. I also shuffle things around if I don’t feel like cooking a particular meal or forget to take meat out of the freezer (happens all the time!).

20160328_065234

Here are links to the recipes I’m using this week:

Sweet and Sour Chicken love this!

Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry new

Warm Chickpea Salad new and mostly to use up some chickpeas i bought a while back

Kale Caesar soooo good and pretty easy. i leave out the croutons.

 

 

Leave a Reply

