layers 26 – 30!

26

Layer 26: Kind of an “in between” to get some new color down and make space for something new. I like how you can see some of the texture here.

27

Layer 27: I’ve been playing with trying to keep things loose and I love the drips and scribbles in this layer.

28

Layer 28: I saw a sunset photo that I really wanted to duplicate. This is the first time I’ve painted from a photo and I like the process but it’s hard for me to do it very quickly.

29

Layer 29: Another abstract in a color palette that I haven’t yet experimented with. I really like the tone of this.

30

Layer 30: Ugh! I do not love my final layer at all but if there is one thing I’ve learned from this challenge, it’s that I can always move on and paint over it. I’m learning to let go and have realized that sometimes these messy in between layers are more motivating than the pretty ones.

I’m posting this a couple days late but I did finish on the night of the 30th which I am quite proud of even if I don’t love the final painting. I’ve learned a lot and I plan on compiling all the images into one big grid along with some learnings here shortly.

Leave a Reply

